Why you should never make a threat you can’t follow up

The discipline of children is something that divides a nation – family, friends, teachers and farmers! 

I look back at my former, child free-self, and remember how I judged parents.  We’ve all been in the queue in a supermarket thinking; ‘Why cant they just shut that screaming kid up?’ or   ‘Who even takes a kid to the supermarket anyway?!’  or even worse;  ‘They are feeding them sweets to keep them quiet?  How spineless’.

Well, how things have changed.  Just last week I was telling a mummy friend how I kind of enjoy going to the supermarket with the kids.  It passes the time, and there’s nowhere more plentiful for snacks and bribes – from magazines to chocolate, they have it all!!  To be honest, if we lived closer, I think I’d be making it part of the daily routine!  (What a saddo!)

The supermarkets must love it too – it sure keeps the cleaners busy, with the never ending trail of half eaten oatybar up and down the aisles.

Anyway, today I made a threat I absolutely couldn’t follow through with.

At breakfast this morning, Lucy was being a prat.  So I told her that I would leave her behind and go without her.  It was the first thing I could think of.  Her response:    ‘Okay’

Bummer.  Can you imagine?  Well, I can tell you – I was flipping tempted.

The thing is, I quite often have to threaten to leave her places.  Like in the car park at toddlers, when she refuses to go in the car and has a meltdown because I put Angus in the car first, even though she suggested it. Standard.

Its a constant game of reverse psychology.  I’m going to have to up my game as soon as she realises that I can’t actually just leave her.  Having said that – My mum once left my sister at a Park in Elgin and drove round the block a few times after she refused to get in the car.  I remember being very upset.  My sister however – cool as a cucumber!  Not bothered in the slightest when we returned for her.  She was at least 7, and that was pre media focus on child abduction.  I think.  She probably flashed her ‘childline’ card at Mum when she got in the car.

I guess we are just living the Terrible Twos.  I saw a website that had the tag line ‘Make the Terrible Twos Terrific’.  I laughed.  And laughed some more.  It was probably written by a childless person, or somebody who had children 40 years ago, who think they know it all about the upbringing of a child, because they did it once you know?!  Needless to say…I didn’t bother reading it.  To busy drinking tea and up dating my FB status!!

One thought on “Why you should never make a threat you can’t follow up

Leave a comment